Nepal or Bust

7 Comments

I did a rather impetuous thing the other day, in fact I did 2 impulsive things.  First I applied for a volunteer position in Nepal to work at an orphanage and monastery for 6 weeks that I just found out I was accepted for.  The second thing I did was buy a ticket to spend the week of X-mas in Hawaii. It’s my m.o. I guess.  I do things without doing too much thinking so that I’m forced to do things before I have time to change my mind.

When I went to Austin last January and then when I went to San Francisco last April I just bought tickets because they were cheap then worried about  accommodation and all of the details later. Same with when I came to England in Feb. I bought the ticket on a whim because it was cheap then figured out everything else way after the fact. Everything seems to work out  for the best.

So wish me luck! I might not have internet access once I’m there very often, but I’ll try and write blog posts as often as I can. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Nepal or Bust

  1. I admire your ability to be completely spontaneous Becky! I think you’ll have an amazing time in Nepal and it will in many respects change your life and your outlook. All in all, when you’re sunning yourself on the beach in Hawaii I think you’ll be able to look back on an amazing year with real excitement about the unknown ahead!

    You’re living a life right now that most people would wish to live but simply aren’t brave enough to. Your courage and adventure is actually inspiring and being around you has inspired me to live a more free life. I’ve learned a great deal from you – you’re amazing!

  2. Becky…how fantastic. Hope you have a wonderful experience at the orphanage in Nepal. Please keep us informed…so I hope they have Internet so we know how you are doing.

  3. Becky–I finally have your Blog–it took me awhile but eventually I got it–I am truly interested in your travels, so continue—I will see you in Issaquah. Love

  4. I just re-read this and it’s funny to look back on the Becky that had no idea she would be deported and have to go thru all of the crap I went thru.

    I love going back and seeing where I was several months ago. I have great memories and enjoyed everything so much!!! Yes, even the deportation!

Leave a comment